All About Me

I’m quite lucky with the fact that I have always known what I wanted to do with my life ever since I started secondary school. I want to change the world for the better and I have always wanted to move New York. Even living in Bristol felt too enclosed for my liking. I was born in Kingston upon Thames but moved to Bristol before I started school. I must admit, it’s refreshing and a very special feeling to be back to my birth place studying for my future. Yet it still doesn’t quite compare with New York. Even before I visited the Big Apple for my 16th birthday, I’ve been infatuated with the city and the culture. It is, after all, the greatest city on earth.

new-york-city-

Growing up

As for changing the world, I have always known it’s something I need to do and have defined myself as a humanitarian for as long as I can remember. However, just how I have wanted to change the world has changed significantly. When I was younger, I wanted to go into fashion, because I loved fashion but hated the industry. I was convinced I was going to be the one to change it from the inside.

As a young women, I felt incredible targeted by the fashion industry, particularly about my body image and size. As I grew up, I came to the realisation that I was not to blame. Sadly this realisation did not come soon enough. I suffered sever depression and glandular fever leading onto ME, taking me out of education for an entire year right before my GCSE’s. This is when I knew change was needed, when I wanted to be involved in that change so that nobody else of any gender felt the way I did and suffer the same set backs. I am one of the lucky few who recovered quickly and can now see that the problem was not with me, but with the fashion industry I was so obsessed with.

mags

After studying fashion and textiles for GCSE’s and A Levels I discovered that my drawing skills were not up to scratch (to say the least) but I loved all of the writing that came along side the practical work. I’ve always loved writing but didn’t realise you could make a career from it that wasn’t a novel writer.

When I applied for university, I was set on studying fashion journalism but ended up applying for just journalism courses as most good universities didn’t specify in fashion. This was another stroke of luck for me as in my final year of A Levels, I found myself becoming more and more politically aware, and started to realise that this is a more likely way I can actually make a difference. Some of the most exciting moments of my life so far are because of my involvement in politics and protests, and I’ve met the most wonderful people as well.

11251771_997327150291883_3320757367956614446_o

Decisions, decisions…

Well, after visiting Kingston University, talking to the lecturers and reading about all of the opportunities offered here, it was a no brainer for me. As soon as I walked through the doors on the open day I knew it was the right university for me, and the course was the best journalism course I had found across the whole of London, especially as I can study any type of journalism in my final year. And then, somehow, I received an unconditional offer before I started my exams. I couldn’t really say no then!

The location is perfect for me, I love being so close to London but not having to live right in the centre as that’s far too expensive and hectic for a student. And Kingston itself is a beautiful place to live. I’ve been here 3 weeks and it already feels like home.

 london3

Inspirations

I am inspired by anyone who is brave enough to stand up for what they believe in. People like Malala. I stand for everything she believes in, and I am inspired by the fact more and more people are trying to change the world for the better.

Poverty, sexism, racism and everything else that is wrong with the world inspires me, it inspires me to make a change and to not take things as they are given to me, to question everything. I’m inspired to help people, to raise awareness about all of the world’s issues. And I’m going to do some good.

 we-can-do-it-poster

As for wanting to study Journalism specifically, it is mostly because I hate being lied to, and feel like we are lied to a lot by the press. I hate Rupert Murdoch and how much power he has. I hate his links with the Prime Minister and how much he gets away with. I want to be the one to expose these kind of people and I want to expose their lies. Mostly, I just want to report on the truth.

I love being the first one to know things and I can’t wait for the feeling of being the first to crack a new story. I’m also fascinated with what’s happening in other countries and I don’t believe that it’s reported on though. Again, I feel like we don’t know the truth about so much, and I’d love to find out.

Leave a Reply

