Report for Free Education Protest

Around 10,000 people turned out on Wednesday 4th November to protest peaceful against the rise of tuition fees for higher education, chanting “grants not debt.”

Demonstrators pass the Houses of Parliament during a protest against student loans and in favour of free education, in central London November 19, 2014.    REUTERS/ Peter Nicholls  (BRITAIN - Tags: POLITICS EDUCATION SOCIETY)

This has come after George Osborne has announced the scrapping of maintenance grants for university students next autumn. This will effect the poorest students the most, as under this new scheme they will no longer get any financial help from the government in terms of grants.

People started to arrive around 11am to help hand out placards, leaflets and to just generally mill around and talk to one another. The atmosphere was buzzing, the air full of anticipation, and the organisers seemed hopeful that it would be peaceful and beneficial for students and those supporting students to have their voice.

Joined by Labour shadow chancellor John McDonnell, he gave a motivational speech to the crowds before the march, accusing the government of ‘betraying students.’ Everyone cheered and (slightly later than planned) we were off.

This is the first time political parties have supported students anger through protests, with Natalie Bennett, leader of the Green Party, also joining the walk.

After walking around what felt like the whole of London, we arrived at Downing Street. Suddenly everyone stopped and there was a small stampede to get as close of possible to the gates. But nothing kicked off, everyone just chanted and booed as loudly as possible whilst we were being watched through closed curtains of Number 10.

We weren’t there for long, and soon we were passing the houses of parliament, where the same thing happened, and again at the home office. Finally we stopped outside the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS) building.

12209287_1049475095071046_2114788491_o
Protestors covered their faces during the march

This is when things took a turn for the worst. Students were kettled in after smoke bombs were directed at the surrounding police. At least 12 protestors have been arrested, but no one has been harmed.

I was lucky enough to get out before it all kicked off. The atmosphere whilst I was there was insane, in a good way, and I loved every minute of it. Everyone who was there that I met were passionate about change and it gave me a refreshed outlook on world. I am excited about the fact people are not just ready for change, but are ready to fight for it.

For more, go to https://protestreporters.wordpress.com/ where I reported on the event with a team of friends for my university.

Published by: MeganFF

I'm a young, aspirational journalism student at Kingston University trying to make a difference. Born in Kingston upon Thames, I have moved back here after spending most of my life growing up in Bristol. London is one of my favourite cities in the world, apart from New York, and as I have family it was a no brainer choosing to move back to this beautiful city. I have always had a passion for writing, however the topics I have wanted to write about has changed quite dramatically over the years. This blog will specifically document my journey as journalism student, preparing for the big bad world of work and taxes, as well as all of the opportunities the university are giving me. As of the moment, I am fascinated with the world of politics and crime having studied it within my A Levels subjects - History, Media Studies and English Language. Despite my huge interest in hard hitting subjects, I am obsessed with travelling to new places and meeting new people. I also love animals, discovering new music and watching films in bed (we all need a little time off from trying to save the world!)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

