Making an Espresso

*A magazine specially brewed for coffee lovers*

Nothing could have prepared me for the way making a magazine took over my life. Time management, sleep and a social life went completely out of the window for months but I wouldn’t have changed any of it because nothing could have prepared me for the sheer pride and relief I felt when we finally had the finished product in our hands.

IMG_3412
Revealing the magazine cover on our Instagram @espressomag

Receiving the parcel with our printed mags was actually an underwhelming experience. I think that because of all the time and effort we had put into making it, once I opened the parcel nothing seemed real. I realised it was all over and I had to move on to projects I wasn’t so totally in love with. And I had loved every second of making the magazine. Every moment of stress was worth it because not only did I get to spend time with three of the most amazing women I’ve had the pleasure of knowing but together we made the best piece of work of my (short) career. That’s pretty awesome.

Screen Shot 2017-08-05 at 12.54.00

 Espresso is a magazine all about coffee and coffee shops in and around London. We stuffed it full of interviews and experiences and facts you never knew you needed to know. We even made an app concept so you can find all the best independent coffee shops wherever you are in the world, which was pretty cool too.

This post isn’t going to be a how-to on what to do when starting a magazine brand because it’s safe to say we did not do anything the correct way and took the long road round to every decision and plan we had to make (which may be another reason why I’m quite so proud of what we achieved). It’s more of an appreciation for how hard we worked and how far we have come as budding journalists. I can’t wait to see what the future holds for the espresso team.

I hope everyone has enjoyed reading espresso as much as I enjoyed making it. Most importantly, I need to *constantly* thank my girls for making it with me and putting up with the bossiest editor to have ever lived. Thank you all!

Published by: MeganFF

I'm a young, aspirational journalism student at Kingston University trying to make a difference. Born in Kingston upon Thames, I have moved back here after spending most of my life growing up in Bristol. London is one of my favourite cities in the world, apart from New York, and as I have family it was a no brainer choosing to move back to this beautiful city. I have always had a passion for writing, however the topics I have wanted to write about has changed quite dramatically over the years. This blog will specifically document my journey as journalism student, preparing for the big bad world of work and taxes, as well as all of the opportunities the university are giving me. As of the moment, I am fascinated with the world of politics and crime having studied it within my A Levels subjects - History, Media Studies and English Language. Despite my huge interest in hard hitting subjects, I am obsessed with travelling to new places and meeting new people. I also love animals, discovering new music and watching films in bed (we all need a little time off from trying to save the world!)

Tags, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

